

For Immediate Release August 22, 2016

DETROIT BOWLING HALL OF FAME ELECTS FOUR NEW MEMBERS

The Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Committee, a committee of the Metro Detroit USBC Association (MDUSBC), has elected four new members to its Hall of Fame and named three others for special awards. This will increase the number of hall of fame members to 260.

Erica Ewald of Oxford, Lauren Roberts of Warren, Mason Brantley of Detroit and Anthony Stipcak of Redford earned their place in the prestigious Hall. Greg Gumtow of Clarkston, Harry Burkey of Grosse Pointe Woods and the late Ely Rose will receive special awards.

Ewald has won five Detroit Women's Bowling Association titles. In 2001 she won the All-Events and Doubles and in 2002 Team, Singles and All-Events.

In 2012 she won the Michigan State USBC WBA Doubles.

She has seven All-City selections including captain in 2011.

Her high career average is 232 in the 2009-10 season and also boasts thirteen 300 games and four 800 series with an 826 high.

Roberts won the Metro Detroit USBC Queens in 2012 and the Detroit Women's Bowling Association Doubles in 2000. She also won a Rip 10 / MDUSBC Women's Series event in 2012.

Her high average is 233 in the 2008-09 season. She has four 300 games and three 800 series with a 815 high.

Brantley won the Metro Detroit USBC Masters in 2011. He also has three local team titles (2003, 2015 and 2016).

Three times he's been named to the All-City team, being honored as captain in 2011.

Additionally he has three Michigan Majors titles and one PBA Regional title along with multiple top five finishes. He also has several other titles in various tournaments around the Midwest.

His high average is 246 in the 2006-07. He has 66 certified 300 games and thirty-eight 800 series with 880 high.

Stipcak won the Greater Detroit Bowling Association Doubles in 1987. He also won two Michigan State Team titles with Ansara Big Boys in 1986 and 1994.

He has two Michigan Majors titles, was awarded Michigan Majors Bowler of the Year in 1987 and leading money winner. In 2014 he was inducted into the Michigan Majors Hall of Fame.

In 1990 he represented the United States in International competition earning a Gold and Silver medal and high qualifier in the finals as a member of Team USA. He also won titles in Lee Evans Tournament of Americas and tournaments in Ireland and the Netherlands.

His high career average is 232. He owns eight 300 games and three 800 series with 841 high.

He joins his wife Cheryl as only the third husband and wife team in the Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame. The others being Dick and Geraldine Beattie and Tom and Bonnie McKay.

Greg Gumtow will be honored with the Thomas W. McKay Award for a lifetime of service to the sport of bowling.

Harry Burkey will receive the Judge Watts Award for making outstanding contributions to the promotion of bowling.

Ely Rose will receive the George Prybyla Industry Award presented for someone involved in the ownership or management of a bowling center that has contributed to the promotion of the sport.

Induction ceremonies will take place Sunday, Nov. 6, 2016 at DeCarlo's Banquet and Convention Center, 6015 E. Ten Mile Rd., Warren. Cocktails will be served at 4 p.m., dinner at 5 p.m. with ceremonies to follow. Tickets are \$30 each and can be purchased through the MDUSBC office at (248) 443-2695 ext. 104.

Media Contact: Mark Martin, (248) 443-2695, ext. 100, mark.martin@mdusbc.com