

For Immediate Release

August 15, 2017

## DETROIT BOWLING HALL OF FAME ELECTS SEVEN NEW MEMBERS

The Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Committee, a committee of the Metro Detroit USBC Association (MDUSBC), has elected seven new members to its Hall of Fame and named three others for special awards. This will increase the number of hall of fame members to 267. The class of seven is the largest class since 2009.

Teresa Catchpole of Macomb, Martha Marshall of Ypsilanti, John Nolen of Waterford Township, Vernon Peterson of Winter Haven, Fla., Consuelo Cleveland of Hazel Park, Leo Scantamburlo of Livonia and Michael DeRousie of Livonia earned their place in the prestigious Hall. Paul Stuart of Ferndale, William Dewid of Warren and Al Winkel of Livonia will receive special awards.

Catchpole won the MDUSBC Senior Queens in 2017. She also was member of the winning fourperson team at the Michigan State USBC Women's tournament in 2017.

Her resume also includes a second team women's All-City in 2016 and a first team senior women's All-City in 2017.

She also won the Cheryl McGowan Sportsmanship award in the Luxury Ladies Invitational in the 2011-12 season.

She is the proud owner of six 300 games, five 299 games and one 800 series (806). Her high career average is 219.

Marshall has four local Detroit titles. All-Events in 1984; team in 1984 and 2000; and doubles in 1995.

In Michigan State Women's competition, she was the all-events and doubles champion in 1983, team champion in 1989 and four-person team champion in 2017.

Other tournament titles include Hoinke Classic team in 1995; Arbor Valley team champion in 1982, 2006 and 2016; Monroe all-events in 1996, 1998 and 1999.

She also won the Cheryl McGowan Sportsmanship award in the Luxury Ladies Invitational in the 2014-15 season.

Marshall also coaches the Ann Arbor Huron High School team.

Her career high average is 201, achieved in the 2013-14 season.

Nolen is the only bowler in Michigan to have won the Masters at the local, state and national level. First, he won the USBC Masters in 2009, followed by the Metro Detroit USBC Masters in 2016 and the Michigan State Masters in 2017.

He also won the MDUSBC doubles in 2014. Four times he's been named to the All-City team (2004, 2006, 2007 and 2017) and captain in 2017.

His career PBA earnings are \$117,500. In 2008, he won the PBA Regional Players Invitational. He has two PBA Regional titles.

He was the Michigan Majors Bowler of the Year and Rookie of the Year in 2004.

His high career average is 243, established in the 2003-04 season. He own forty-seven 300 games and twenty-seven 800 series with a high of 858.

Peterson had a very successful youth career notching six Michigan Junior Masters Association and seven Junior Tournament Bowlers Association titles. He was named Bowler of the Year in both associations. He also won the 1995 Michigan State Youth Amateur championship.

He broke into the adult ranks by winning the Greater Detroit Masters in 1996, his first adult season. In 1996, he also won the Michigan State Amateur championship; won the National Amateur Championship; was named Rookie of the Year in both the Detroit All-Star Classic and the Detroit Traveling Classic; was named the Michigan Majors Rookie of the Year and named to the Greater Detroit All-City team for the first time. He would go on to be named three additional times (1997, 1998 and 2000).

He was a member of the Greater Detroit team champion in 1997 and won the doubles in 2000 with Todd Kurowski.

Three times, he's represented the United States in International competition as a member of Team USA. During this time, he won two Silver medals in World Championships (1997 and 1999) and five Gold medals in Zone Championships (1997 and 1998).

He's competed in the USBC Open Championships for 22 years, averaging 213. In 2013, he won the USBC Open team championship with the Lodge Lanes Too team.

His high career average is 241 in the 2005-06 season. He has at least fifty-three 300 games and thirty-one 800 series with a high of 847.

Veteran Cleveland began bowling in the late 1970's. Much of her success has been in the TNBA with titles in the Women's team (2012) and Senior team (2010 and 2015).

She won the Michigan State Women's doubles in 1990 and 1991 with Gloria Edgar.

During the 2014-15 season, her team received USBC National Team Recognition for the highest team game of 1,355 for a four-man, one-woman team. She contributed 258 to the effort.

She has two career 300 games and a career high average of 207.

The other veteran elected is Scantamburlo. He won the Michigan State doubles in 1977.

He was named to the All-City team in 1977 and the Senior All-City teams in 2004 and 2007.

He's a regular participant in the McKay Invitational Doubles for charity.

His top career average is 223 from the 2006-07 season and has eight 300 games.

DeRousie comes to the Hall by virtue of service to the sport. He joined the Greater Detroit Board of Directors in 2001 and continued with the Metro Detroit USBC Board after the merger in 2006.

He was elected MDUSBC Vice-President in 2009 and further elected President in 2010 and served four years as President.

He remains an active member of the MDUSBC Board, serving as chair of the Awards and Recognition and Finance committees.

He was a league secretary and treasurer for over 20 years.

Honors he's received are GDBA Secretary of the Year (2004), GDBA President's Awards (2005), GDBA Director of the Year (2006) and Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Judge John D. Watts Award for promotion of the sport (2013).

He's an active promoter of the association and the charities associated with the association (BVL, Bowl For The Cure, and McKay).

Paul Stuart will be honored with the Thomas W. McKay Award for a lifetime of service to the sport of bowling.

William Dewid will receive the Judge Watts Award for making outstanding contributions to the promotion of bowling.

Al Winkel will receive the George Prybyla Industry Award presented for someone involved in the ownership or management of a bowling center that has contributed to the promotion of the sport.

Induction ceremonies will take place Sunday, Oct. 15, 2017 at DeCarlo's Banquet and Convention Center, 6015 E. Ten Mile Rd., Warren. Cocktails will be served at 4 p.m., dinner at 5 p.m. with ceremonies to follow. Tickets are \$30 each and can be purchased through the MDUSBC office at (248) 443-2695 ext. 104.

Media Contact: Mark Martin, (248) 443-2695, ext. 100, mark.martin@mdusbc.com

- 30 -