

For Immediate Release August 13, 2019

DETROIT BOWLING HALL OF FAME ELECTS SIX NEW MEMBERS

The Detroit Bowling Hall of Fame Committee, a committee of the Metro Detroit USBC (MDUSBC), has elected six new members to its Hall of Fame and named three others for special awards. This will increase the number of hall of fame members to 277.

Yvonne Jones of Troy, Gerald Johnson of Taylor, Edward Mintz of Canton, David Eatmon of Ferndale, Debra Dickerson of Detroit and Carol Roberts of Ferndale earned their place in the prestigious Hall. Paul Gross of Farmington Hills, Thomas Strobl of Bloomfield and Diane Voight of Farmington Hills will receive special awards.

Jones has been named to the Women's All-City team five times, including as captain in 2006. Other first team honors were in 1999, 2000 and 2005 and second team in 1997.

She won the Detroit Women's Bowling Association (DWBA) all-events in 2005 with an impressive score of 2,156. She followed it up by winning the DWBA Queens in 2006.

She was named Female Bowler of the Year in the 2015-16 season by the Detroit Bowling Senate of the TNBA.

Her career statistics include fifteen 300 games and three 800 series, including a high of 825. Her career high average is 227 in the 2006-07 season.

Johnson captained the MDUSBC Senior All-City team in 2019. He's earned three other Senior All-City second team nods in 2013, 2014 and 2017. In 2019, he also won a MDUSBC Men's Series event and the season-long Cup.

He won a PBA Regional Senior/Super Senior Doubles title in 2016 with Mike Chapman.

In Senior Singles Open competition, he's won 20 titles and was the first inductee into the organization's Hall of Fame. He also is a six-time Bowler of the Year.

In TNBA competition, he was the Bill Rhodman National champion in 1991; the Rhodman Central Region champion in 1991 and 2000; and the Rhodman Senior champion in 2016.

He has at least sixty-four 300 games and twenty-three 800 series with a high of 857. His career high average is 242 in the 2012-13 season.

Mintz won the MDUSBC team title in 2012 and 2017; doubles in 2013; singles in 2016 and all-events in 2016. Additionally he was a member of the Michigan State team, which won in 2018.

For nine consecutive years (2011-2019) he's been named to the MDUSBC Senior All-City first team and the MDUSBC All-City team on four occasions (2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017).

He's won two Senior Singles Open titles; six Senior Motor City Classic titles and two National Senior Bowling Association titles.

He has a career average of 192 for 37 USBC Open Championships.

For his career, he has at least thirty-five 300 games and at least thirty-two 800 series with a high of 857. His high career average is 249 in the 2012-13 season.

Veteran Eatmon won the Greater Detroit Bowling Association team title in 1987 with the Biggs' Bombers team. Twice he earned second team Senior All-City honors (2006 and 2009).

He participated in the All-Star league for 35 years, amassing six titles. He also won the Joe Paulus Sportsmanship Award five times.

For 14 USBC Open Championships he's averaged 201.

He served on the MDUSBC Board from 2009 until 2011.

He has twenty-five 300 games and eleven 800 series with a high of 867. His career high average is 236 in the 2008-09 season.

Veteran Dickerson has been named to the MDUSBC Senior Women's All-City team five times between 2007 and 2013, including captain in 2009.

Her team won the Michigan State USBC WBA four-person team title in 2017 and the MDUSBC Women's team title in 2009.

She was named TNBA Female Bowler of the Year in 2010 and was a member of the TNBA Women's team champion in 2015.

She served as a director on the board of the Detroit Women's Bowling Association from 2003-2006 and the MDUSBC board from 2006 until 2019. She was named MDUSBC Volunteer of the Year in 2011.

To her credit she has one 300 game and one 800 series, a high of 832. Her high average is 217 in the 2005-06 season.

Roberts earns her place in the hall in the Meritorious Service category as a long-time league officer as president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer, in addition to being a fine bowler.

As a competitor, she won the 2003 Michigan State WBA Senior Queens title and was on the MDUSBC Women's championship team in 2013. She was named to the MDUSBC Women's Senior All-City team in 2007. She has participated in the local Women's championships for 39 years; state Women's championships for 32 years; and the national Women's championships for five years.

In addition to being a long-time league officer, she has been a WIBC/USBC member for 47 consecutive years, since 1971. She regularly attends the MDUSBC Annual membership meeting, has served as an Association Representative since 2006, has been a delegate to three Michigan State USBC annual meetings and one WIBC convention.

Her career high game is 299; high series 780 and high average 203.

Paul Gross will be honored with the Thomas W. McKay Award for a lifetime of service to the sport of bowling.

Thomas Strobl will receive the Judge Watts Award for making outstanding contributions to the promotion of bowling.

Diane Voight will receive the George Prybyla Industry Award presented for someone involved in the ownership or management of a bowling center that has contributed to the promotion of the sport.

Induction ceremonies will take place Sunday, Oct. 6, 2019 at St. Mary's Cultural Center, 18100 Merriman in Livonia. Cocktails will be served at 4 p.m., dinner at 5 p.m. with ceremonies to follow. Tickets are \$30 each and can be purchased through the MDUSBC office at (248) 443-2695 ext. 104.

Media Contact: Mark Martin, (248) 443-2695, ext. 100, mark.martin@mdusbc.com