\$1,000 added to prize fund by **MDUSBC**







2021 Masters Championship

USBC Certified

Held at: Westland Bowl 5940 N Wayne Rd Westland, MI 48185 (734) 722-7570

Operated by:

Metro Detroit USBC 28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 48076 (248) 443-2695

Sponsors:	Turbo Grips & Turbo Tech					
Date:	Qualifying: March 6, 2021	Match Play: March 7, 2021				
Time:	Qualifying at 9 a.m.					
Format:	Each bowler shall bowl 6 games in qualifying. The top players will join the defending champion in two-game double elimination matches. The number of players in match play will be on a 1:5 ratio.					
Awards:	First place \$2,500, second place \$1,250, final match play spot pays \$300, based on 120 entries. Match play spots based on a 1:5 ratio. Top four non-cashing seniors 50 and over will receive \$150.					
Cost:	\$150 (\$120 prize fee, \$30 lineage & expenses). Fee \$140 if paid before December 4, 2020 Checks made payable to MDUSBC. Visa/MC/Discover accepted.					
Deadline:	March 6, 2021 unless filled earlier. Tournament is limited to 160 entries.					
Address _		Phone				
City, State,	Zip					

Visa/MasterCard/Discover #: _____ Exp. Date: _____

Name & Address of person on card: ______

Mail entries with fee to:

Metro Detroit USBC Attn: Masters Championship 28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 48076

\$1,000 added to prize fund by **MDUSBC**



2020 Champion

Ryan VanHecke

RULES & REGULATIONS - MASTERS CHAMPIONSHIP

- 1. This is an individual match game event open to all certified members of the Metro Detroit USBC who bowled 21 games or more in the Metro Detroit USBC Association the previous season or MDUSBC members with 21 games or more in the current season in any given league in the MDUSBC as of first day of qualifying. If a bowler resides within the boundaries of the MDUSBC and is not bowling in any league this season, they may purchase an affiliate card for \$25.00 and be eligible to bowl in the tournament. If the maximum number of bowlers (160) is not reached by December 28, 2020 then the event is open to all certified USBC members. Non-mem bers meeting the eligibility requirements set forth above can become members and be eligible by paying the appropriate fees.
- 2. The tournament is limited to the first 160 bowlers with 1 in 5 bowlers qualifying for head to head matches. The defending champion will be seeded 9th into the match play competition, unless they qualify in a higher position which is where they would be seeded but must pay for and bowl in qualifying rounds to be eligible.
- 3. In qualifying rounds, bowlers will draw for lanes and will bowl 6 games across 12 lanes moving after each game.
- 4. If there is a breakdown and an unreasonable delay, tournament manager can authorize reasonable practice. If there is a breakdown tournament manager can reassign bowlers.
- 5. In the case of a tie for the final match play spot, one additional game will be bowled by those bowlers tied. The bowlers will draw for starting lanes and the bowler with the odd lane will start the roll-off. If a tie exists after the one game rolloff a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 6. Failure of any bowler to be available in case of a tie will constitute a forfeit. In the event of a tie for any other position, the player with the high game in qualifying round will be placed in the higher position. Should a tie still exist, then next highest qualifying game will be used.
- 7. If a bowler is unable to appear for the first round of match play the match will be forfeited.
- Non-appearance, regardless of cause, will constitute forfeiture of the match and the player present will bowl their game without opposition to advance to succeeding round. If the forfeiture occurs in the WINNERS BRACKET, the absent bowler automatically goes in to the proper position in the LOSERS BRACKET.
- 9. Bowlers must lose two matches to be eliminated from the tournament.
- Each match will be over two games, total pins determine the winner. Pairings for the initial round of matches will be based on the finish of the contestants in qualifying rounds. Pairings will continue on a bracket system, which will be on display.
- 11. In match play only one player assigned to a lane. The order of bowling will be according to match game procedure with the bowler on the odd lane starting first. Bowlers start the first game of the series on the lane assigned. Succeeding games will be started on the lane where the tenth frame of the preceding game was bowled.
- 12. If a match ends in a tie, a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 13. Dress code enforced by Masters Committee. No jeans, hats or shorts to be worn during competition.
- 14. Tournament management will correct obvious errors, including math errors, in accordance with USBC Rule 327b.
- 15. NOTE: Bowling balls of qualifiers must be checked upon request from tournament officials that such equipment be checked. All balls used must be recorded on the bowler's score sheet for all competitors. Any bowler having a ball not in compliance with USBC specifications will be disgualified.

PAST CHAMPIONS

1964 - Sal Timpa 1965 - Bill Fite 1966 - Ted Bakatselos 1967 - Bob Crawford 1968 - Bob Kwolek 1969 - Dick Lang 1970 - Bill Spargo 1971 - Mike Samardzija 1972 - Jack Treloar 1973 - Roger Thorpe	1977 - John Bennett 1978 - Fred McClain 1979 - Bob Strampe 1980 - Dick Beattie	1984 - David Chappell 1985 - Mike Clemence 1986 - Ron Matney 1987 - Ken Lang 1988 - Dave Tulak 1989 - Jerry Penxa 1990 - Bob Chamberlain 1991 - Mike Clemence 1992 - Quintin Greene 1993 - Terry Dockery	1994 - Gene Stus 1995 - Tony DaDeppo 1996 - Vernon Peterson 1997 - Ken Kossick 1998 - Doug Evans 1999 - Joe Krajenke 2000 - Chris Sand 2001 - Mark Moore 2002 - Ken Kossick 2003 - Mark Moore	2004 - Mark Moore 2005 - Jeff Austreng 2006 - Dave Ewald 2007 - Jeff Austreng 2008 - Kerry Kreft 2009 - Paul Koehler 2010 - Eddie Grace III 2011 - Mason Brantley 2012 - Rick Capaldi 2013 - Jeffrey Roche	2014 - Ronnie Sparks Jr 2015 - Corey Miller 2016 - John Nolen 2017 - Andrew Anderson 2018 - Justin Knowles 2019 - Justin Knowles 2020 - Ryan VanHecke
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------