## JOHN NOLEN WINS \$2,500 FIRST PRIZE IN MDUSBC MASTERS AT 300 BOWL

John Nolen of Waterford won the Metro Detroit USBC Masters Tournament at 300 Bowl in Waterford Sunday when he defeated John Kelley of Sterling Heights 629-626 to win the \$2,500 first prize and the title. Kelley settled for the second place check of \$1,500.

Nolen qualified 12<sup>th</sup> in the field of 117 with a 10-game total of 2,156. He averaged 219.7 for 31 games of competition. In match play he beat Lonnie Jones of Ann Arbor 615-497, Harold Sullins of Chesterfield 742-523, Ronnie Sparks Jr. of Redford 706-670, James Koss of Brighton 663-624 and John Kelley of Sterling Heights 670-661 the first time as he awaited a challenger. He then lost to Kelley 755-631 to force an overtime match, in which he prevailed.

"This is something I've always wanted to win and to accomplish this is fantastic." said Nolen. "This ranks as 1a and 1b along with my 2009 USBC Masters title."

Kelley qualified seventh with 2,229. He averaged 219.5 for 34 games. He advanced with wins over Franklin Snodgrass of Center Line 660-606, Abed Daher of Dearborn 572-525, Nicholas Cooper of Clarkston 693-604, Mason Brantley of Detroit 629-591 before falling to Nolen the first time 670-661. He then came back and avenged the earlier loss to Nolen 755-631, before falling in the championship match.

Sparks, the 2014 champion, qualified fourth with 2,237. He averaged 227.2 for 34 games. His match play wins included victories over Mark Milasinovich Jr. of Macomb 620-605 and Carl Boldt of Pontiac 712-631 before falling to John Nolen of Waterford 706-670. In the loser's bracket he beat Abed Daher 678-608, defending champion Corey Miller of Waterford 736-666, Mason Brantley 731-654, Kenneth Wyatt of Sterling Heights 711-662 before being knocked out by Kelley 638-631. He cashed for \$1,000.

Wyatt qualified third with 2,263. He averaged 228 for 31 games. Triumphs over Jonathan Kennedy of Warren 660-585 and Jeffrey Austreng of Waterford 716-562 before falling to Mason Brantley 688-649. Once in the loser's bracket he beat Carl Boldt 661-596, Nicholas Cooper 780-627, James Koss 676-607 before getting knocked out by Sparks 711-662. He took home \$700 for his fourth place finish. This followed back-to-back runner-up finishes.

2011 champion Mason Brantley qualified sixth with 2,234, won three matches and took home \$500 for his fifth place finish. Koss finished sixth and got a check for \$500.

Defending champion Corey Miller qualified ninth with 2,152, won three matches and took home \$400 for his seventh place finish. Cooper also cashed for \$400 and finished eighth.

Turbo 2-N-1 Grips and Red Robin Restaurants of Michigan are co-sponsors of the MDUSBC Masters.

The MDUSBC Masters Tournament is a USBC certified event operated by the Metro Detroit USBC, the largest local association of the United States Bowling Congress with nearly 50,000 members.

- more -

## 2016 METRO DETROIT USBC ASSOCIATION MASTERS TOURNAMENT AT 300 BOWL

## CO-SPONSORED BY: TURBO 2-N-1 GRIPS RED ROBIN RESTAURANTS OF MICHIGAN

<u>PL</u>	NAME	<u>CITY</u>	AVERAGE	<u>WINNINGS</u>
1	John Nolen	Waterford	219.74	\$2,500
2	John Kelley	Sterling Heights	219.50	\$1,500
3	Ronnie Sparks Jr.	Redford	227.24	\$1,000
4	Kenneth Wyatt	Sterling Heights	227.97	\$700
5	Mason Brantley	Detroit	215.76	\$500
6	James Koss	Brighton	210.48	\$500
7	Corey Miller	Waterford	221.24	\$400
8	Nicholas Cooper	Clarkston	209.72	\$400
9	Bo Goergen	Sanford	222.84	\$350
10	Carl Boldt	Pontiac	214.16	\$350
11	Abed Daher	Dearborn	209.96	\$350
12	Timothy Mayer	St. Clair Shores	209.12	\$350
13	Harold Sullins	Chesterfield	216.27	\$300
14	Cory Hines	Jackson	214.45	\$300
15	Trey Raynes	Westland	214.36	\$300
16	Kerry Kreft	Warren	213.32	\$300
17	John Robertson	Waterford	222.47	\$275
18	Justin Neiman	Warren	214.89	\$275
19	Jeffrey Austreng	Waterford	214.74	\$275
20	Matthew Coleman	Auburn Hills	213.11	\$275
21	Jeffrey Edwards	West Bloomfield	210.47	\$275
22	Joseph Krajenke	Clinton Twp	206.79	\$275
23	Charles McLeod	Westland	206.21	\$275
24	Lonnie Jones	Ann Arbor	199.37	\$275
25	John Tovar	Waterford	207.81	\$250
26	Chase Siburt	Keego Harbor	206.13	\$250
27	Jeffrey Suma Sr	Auburn Hills	205.19	\$250
28	Jonathan Kennedy	Warren	204.31	\$250
29	Mark Milasinovich Jr	Macomb	200.69	\$250
30	Richard Schultz	Macomb	199.13	\$250
31	Franklin Snodgrass	Center Line	198.38	\$250
32	Gregory Sierzan	New Baltimore	196.06	\$250

## NON-CASHING SENIORS (50- AND OVER)

33.	Michael Lucente	Warren	2048	\$ 150
34.	Terence Dockery	Fraser	2047	\$ 150
45.	Anthony Moses	Sterling Heights	2001	\$ 150
46.	Peter MInaudo	Chesterfield	1993	\$ 150