ANDREW ANDERSON WINS \$2,000 FIRST PRIZE IN MDUSBC MASTERS AT BOWL ONE LANES

Andrew Anderson of Holly won the Metro Detroit USBC Masters Tournament at Bowl One Lanes in Troy Sunday when he defeated Ryan VanHecke of Chesterfield Heights 730-710 to win the \$2,000 first prize and the title. VanHecke settled for the second place check of \$1,000.

Anderson, bowling in his first MDUSBC Masters, was the top qualifier with 2,363. The former Junior Team USA player averaged 240.2 for 28 games. He remained in the winner's bracket with wins over Michael Calvin of Warren 698-614, Peter Kaczmarczyk of Warren 774-694, James Koss of Brighton 736-663 and VanHecke 706-695 the first time as he awaited a challenger. He then lost to VanHecke 769-718 to force an overtime match, in which he prevailed.

"This ranks up there with the others.", said Anderson, when asked how this title ranks with his other accomplishments. "Detroit is the toughest bowling market around with many quality players."

VanHecke qualified sixth with 2,260. He averaged 234.9 for 31 games. He remained in the winner's bracket with triumphs over Mark Milasinovich of Macomb 768-634, David Reaume of St. Clair Shores 649-648 and Larry Walker of Garden City 639-608 before losing to Anderson 706-695. In the loser's bracket he beat Harold Sullins of Chesterfield 703-672 to advance to the championship match. In the final match he defeated Anderson 769-718, before losing the championship match 730-710.

Sullins qualified 18th with 2,177 and averaged 226 for 34 games of competition. He lost his first match to Carleton Chambers of Detroit 668-645 to fall to the loser's bracket. Once there he ran off an impressive run of wins over Michael Calvin 668-640, Trey Raynes of Westland 768-687, 2014 champion Ronnie Sparks Jr. of Redford 801-723, David Reaume 606-548, James Koss 671-631, Larry Walker 675-576 before losing to VanHecke 703-672.

Walker qualified 23rd with 2,143. He averaged 227.4 for 28 games. He beat John Kelley of Clinton Township 742-607, 2011 champion Mason Brantley of Detroit 742-562 and Ronnie Sparks Jr. 763-639 before falling to VanHecke 639-608. In the loser's bracket he beat Mark Milasinovich 663-560 before ending his day by losing to Sullins 675-576. He took home \$600 for his fourth place finish.

James Koss qualified 12th with 2,218 and took home \$500 for this fifth place finish. Mark Milasinovich finished sixth for \$500, Timothy Mayer of St. Clair Shores seventh for \$450 and David Reaume eighth for \$450.

Defending champion John Nolen was seeded ninth with 2,240, won one match and took home \$375 for his 13th place finish.

Turbo 2-N-1 Grips and Red Robin Restaurants of Michigan are co-sponsors of the MDUSBC Masters.

The MDUSBC Masters Tournament is a USBC certified event operated by the Metro Detroit USBC, the largest local association of the United States Bowling Congress with nearly 50,000 members.

2017 METRO DETROIT USBC ASSOCIATION MASTERS TOURNAMENT AT BOWL ONE

CO-SPONSORED BY: TURBO 2-N-1 GRIPS RED ROBIN RESTAURANTS OF MICHIGAN

<u>PL</u>	<u>NAME</u>	CITY	<u>AVERAGE</u>	WINNINGS
1	Andrew Anderson	Holly	240.18	\$2,000
2	Ryan VanHecke	Chesterfield	232.03	\$1,000
3	Harold Sullins	Chesterfield	225.97	\$800
4	Larry Walker	Garden City	222.75	\$600
5	James Koss	Brighton	222.40	\$500
6	Mark Milasinovich	Macomb	220.06	\$500
7	Timothy Mayer	St Clair Shores	214.48	\$450
8	David Reaume	St Clair Shores	213.76	\$450
9	Ronnie Sparks	Redford	229.84	\$400
10	Troy Stus	South Lyon	223.72	\$400
11	Peter Kaczmarczyk	Warren	218.32	\$400
12	Kenneth Wyatt	Sterling Heights	216.84	\$400
13	John Nolen	Waterford	227.84	\$375
14	Brian Odom	Westland	221.21	\$375
15	Darin Flores	Redford	218.37	\$375
16	Trey Raynes	Westland	218.26	\$375
17	Mike Calvin	Warren	218.00	\$350
18	Carl Boldt	Pontiac	217.56	\$350
19	Carleton Chambers	Detroit	216.74	\$350
20	John Kelley	Clinton Twp	216.44	\$350
21	Jeffrey Austreng	Waterford	216.25	\$350
22	Kerry Kreft	Warren	215.13	\$350
23	Andrew Featherstone	White Lake	213.19	\$350
24	Mason Brantley	Detroit	209.88	\$350
25	Terence Dockery	Fraser	2177	\$260
NON-CASHING SENIORS (50- AND OVER)				
	33. Joseph Krajenke	Clinton Twp	2127	\$170
	34. Jeffrey Suma Sr	Auburn Hills	2039	\$170
	45. Michael Lucente	Warren	2035	\$170
	46. Jeffrey Kendall	Clawson	2020	\$170