All bowling equipment must be approved by USBC and no bowling ball can be used prior to the release date to the public.



All Entry Fees go to the Prize Fund





Turbo Driven to Bowl



2024/25 Masters Championship

Held at:

USBC Certified

Thunderbowl Lanes 4200 Allen Rd Allen Park, MI 48101 (313) 928-4688 Metro Detroit USBC 28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 48076

Operated by:

(248) 443-2695

Date:	Qualifying: February 1, 2025	Match Play: February 2, 2025
Time:	Qualifying at 11a.m., match play at 9a.m.	
Format:	Each bowler shall bowl 6 games in qualifying. The top players will join the defending champion in two-game double elimination matches. The number of players in match play will be determined on a 1:5 ratio.	
Awards:	First place \$2,500, second place \$1,250, final match play spot pays \$350, based on 102 entries. Match play spots based on a 1:5 ratio. Top two non-cashing seniors 50 and over will receive \$170.	
Cost:	\$170 (all entry fees go to the prize fund). Fee \$160 if paid before September 28, 2024. An additional \$10 will be added for walk in registrants. Checks made payable to MDUSBC. Visa/MC/Discover accepted.	
Deadline:	February 1, 2025 unless filled earlier. Tournament is limited to 102 entries.	
Name		ID#
Address _		Phone
City, State	e, Zip	

Visa/MasterCard/Discover #: _____ Exp. Date: _____

Mail entries with fee to:

Name & Address of person on card: _____

Metro Detroit USBC

Attn: Masters Championship

28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 48076 Turbo 2-n-1 Grips is supporting this event by providing an extra \$300 to the winning bowler. An optional patch will be offered to bowlers. If the winning bowler is wearing the patch throughout the event, Turbo will send them \$100. DiLaura Brothers is also supporting this event and the Detroit bowling community.

RULES & REGULATIONS - MASTERS CHAMPIONSHIP

- 1. This is an individual match game event open to all certified members of the Metro Detroit USBC who bowled 21 games or more in the Metro Detroit USBC Association the previous season or MDUSBC members with 21 games or more in the current season in any given league in the MDUSBC as of first day of qualifying. If a bowler resides within the boundaries of the MDUSBC and is not bowling in any league this season, they may purchase an affiliate card for \$30.00 and be eligible to bowl in the tournament. If the maximum number of bowlers (102) is not reached by January 17, 2025 then the event is open to all certified USBC members. Non-members meeting the eligibility requirements set forth above can become members and be eligible by paying the appropriate fees.
- 2. The tournament is limited to the first 102 bowlers with 1 in 5 bowlers qualifying for head to head matches. The defending champion will be seeded 9th into the match play competition, unless they qualify in a higher position which is where they would be seeded but must pay for and bowl in qualifying rounds to be eligible. Top two non-cashing seniors 50 and over will receive \$170.
- 3. In qualifying rounds, bowlers will draw for lanes and will bowl 6 games across 12 lanes moving after each game.
- 4. If there is a breakdown and an unreasonable delay, tournament manager can authorize reasonable practice. If there is a breakdown tournament manager can reassign bowlers.
- 5. In the case of a tie for the final match play spot, one additional game will be bowled by those bowlers tied. The bowlers will draw for starting lanes and the bowler with the odd lane will start the roll-off. If a tie exists after the one game rolloff a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 6. Failure of any bowler to be available in case of a tie will constitute a forfeit. In the event of a tie for any other position, the player with the high game in qualifying round will be placed in the higher position. Should a tie still exist, then next highest qualifying game will be used
- 7. If a bowler is unable to appear for the first round of match play the match will be forfeited.
- 8. Non-appearance, regardless of cause, will constitute forfeiture of the match and the player present will bowl their game without opposition to advance to succeeding round. If the forfeiture occurs in the WINNERS BRACKET, the absent bowler automatically goes in to the proper position in the LOSERS BRACKET.
- 9. Bowlers must lose two matches to be eliminated from the tournament.
- 10. Each match will be over two games, total pins determine the winner. Pairings for the initial round of matches will be based on the finish of the contestants in qualifying rounds. Pairings will continue on a bracket system, which will be on display.
- 11. In match play only one player assigned to a lane. The order of bowling will be according to match game procedure with the bowler on the odd lane starting first. Bowlers start the first game of the series on the lane assigned. Succeeding games will be started on the lane where the tenth frame of the preceding game was bowled.
- 12. If a match ends in a tie, a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 13. Dress code enforced by Masters Committee. No jeans, hats or shorts to be worn during competition.
- 14. Tournament management will correct obvious errors, including math errors, in accordance with USBC Rule 327b.
- 15. NOTE: Bowling balls of qualifiers must be checked upon request from tournament officials that such equipment be checked. All balls used must be recorded on the bowler's score sheet for all competitors. Any bowler having a ball not in compliance with USBC specifications or used prior to the release date will be disqualified.

PAST CHAMPIONS:

1984 - David Chappell 1964 - Sal Timpa 1985 - Mike Clemence 1965 - Bill Fite 1966 - Ted Bakatselos 1986 - Ron Matney 1967 - Bob Crawford 1987 - Ken Lang 1988 - Dave Tulak 1968 - Bob Kwolek 1969 - Dick Lang 1989 - Jerry Penxa 1970 - Bill Spargo 1990 - Bob Chamberlain 1991 - Mike Clemence 1971 - Mike Samardzija 1972 - Jack Treloar 1992 - Quintin Greene 1973 - Roger Thorpe 1993 - Terry Dockery 1974 - Dick Beattie 1994 - Gene Stus 1975 - Pat lannucciÁ 1995 - Tony DaDeppo 1996 - Vernon Peterson 1976 - Pat lannucciÁ 1977 - John BennettÁ 1997 - Ken Kossick 1978 - Fred McClainÁ 1998 - Doug Evans 1979 - Bob StrampeÁ 1999 - Joe Krajenke 1980 - Dick BeattieÁ 2000 - Chris Sand 1981 - Dick BeattieÁ 2001 - Mark Moore 1982 - Bob Goike 2002 - Ken Kossick 1983 - Bob Stempien 2003 - Mark Moore

2004 - Mark Moore 2005 - Jeff Austreng 2006 - Dave Ewald 2007 - Jeff Austreng 2008 - Kerry Kreft 2009 - Paul Koehler 2010 - Eddie Grace III 2011 - Mason Brantley 2012 - Rick Capaldi 2013 - Jeffrey Roche 2014 - Ronnie Sparks Jr 2015 - Corey Miller 2016 - John Nolen 2017 - Andrew Anderson 2018 - Justin Knowles 2019 - Justin Knowles 2020 - Ryan VanHecke 2021 - Jeff Austreng 2022 - Ed Burbo

2022-23 - Andre Gonzales

2024 - Andre Gonzales