All bowling equipment must be approved by USBC and no bowling ball can be used prior to the release date to the public.



All Entry Fees go to the Prize Fund



2024 Champion: Troy Stus

2025 Senior Masters

Championship

Held at:

USBC Certified

Indian Lanes 4500 13th St Wyandotte, MI 48192 (734) 283-4700 Operated by: Metro Detroit USBC 28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 48076 (248) 443-2695

Date:	Qualifying: Febr	uary 15, 2025	Match Play: Februa	ary 16, 2025	
Time:	Qualifying at 11 a.m., match play at 9 a.m.				
Format:	Each bowler shall bowl six games in one day for qualifying. The top players will join the defending champion in two-game double elimination matches. Bowlers must be 50 years of age as of February 15, 2025.				
Awards:	First place \$2,000, second place \$1,000, final match play spot \$300, based on 120 entries. Match play spots based on a 1:5 ratio. 1 in 3 (maximum of 12) of the top non-cashing seniors 60 years and over receive \$140.				
Cost: Deadline:	\$140 (all entry fees go to the prize fund). Checks made payable to MDUSBC. Visa/MC/Discover accepted. Walk in fee is \$10.				
	February 15, 2025 unless filled earlier. Tournament is limited to 120 entries unless extended.				
Name				ID#	
Address				Phone	
City, State,	Zip				
Visa/Maste	rCard/Discover	#:		Exp. Date:	
Name & Address of person on card:					
Mail entries with fee to:		Metro Detroit USBC	Championakin		
		Attn: Senior Masters 28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 4807		Turbo 2-n-1 Grips is supporting this event by providing an extra \$300 to the winning bowler. An optional patch will be offered to bowlers. If the winning bowler is wearing the patch throughout the event, Turbo will send them an extra \$100.	

RULES & REGULATIONS - SENIOR MASTERS CHAMPIONSHIP

- 1. This is an individual match game event open to all certified members of the Metro Detroit USBC who bowled 21 games or more in the Metro Detroit USBC Association the previous season or MDUSBC members with 21 games or more in the current season in any given league in the MDUSBC as of first day of qualifying and who are at least 50 years old as of February 15, 2025. If a bowler resides within the boundaries of the MDUSBC they may pay the appropriate fees and be eligible to bowl in the tournament. If the maximum number of bowlers (160) is not reached by January 6, 2025 then the event is open to all certified USBC members who meet the age requirements. Non-members meeting the eligibility requirements set forth above can become members and be eligible by paying the appropriate fees.
- The tournament is limited to the first 160 bowlers with 1 in 5 bowlers qualifying for head to head matches. The defending champion will be seeded 9th
 into the match play competition, unless they qualify in a higher position which is where they would be seeded but must pay for and bowl in qualifying
 rounds to be eligible.
- 3. In qualifying rounds, bowlers will draw for lanes on Saturday and will bowl six games across 12 lanes on Saturday, moving after each game.
- 4. If there is a breakdown and an unreasonable delay, tournament manager can authorize reasonable practice. If there is a breakdown tournament manager can reassign bowlers.
- 5. In the case of a tie for final match play spot, one additional game will be bowled by those bowlers tied. The bowlers will draw for starting lanes and the bowler with the odd lane will start the roll-off. If a tie exists after the one game rolloff a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 6. Failure of any contestant to be available in case of a tie will constitute a forfeit. In the event of a tie for any other position, the player with the high game in qualifying round will be placed in the higher position. Should a tie still exist, then next highest qualifying game will be used.
- If a bowler is unable to appear for the first round of match play, the match will be forfeited.
- 8. Non-appearance, regardless of cause, will constitute forfeiture of the match and the player present will bowl their game without opposition to advance to succeeding round. If the forfeiture occurs in the WINNERS BRACKET, the absent bowler automatically goes in to the proper position in the LOSERS BRACKET.
- 9. Bowlers must lose two matches to be eliminated from the tournament.
- 10. Each match will be over two games, total pins determine the winner. Pairings for the initial round of matches will be based on
- the finish of the contestants in qualifying rounds. Pairings will continue on a bracket system, which will be on display.
- 11. In match play only one player assigned to a lane. The order of bowling will be according to match game procedure with the bowler on the odd lane starting first. Bowlers start the first game of the series on the lane assigned. Succeeding games will be started on the lane where the tenth frame of the preceding game was bowled.
- 12. If a match ends in a tie, a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 13. Dress code enforced by Masters Committee. No jeans, hats or shorts to be worn during competition.
- 14. Tournament management will correct obvious errors, including math errors, in accordance with USBC Rule 327b.
- 15. NOTE: Bowling balls of qualifiers must be checked upon request from tournament officials that such equipment be checked. All balls used must be recorded on the bowler's score sheet for all competitors. All bowling equipment must be approved by USBC and no bowling ball can be used prior to the release date to the public. If found using unapproved equipment or bowling balls not released to the public, the bowler may be disqualified.

PAST SENIOR MASTERS CHAMPS

1993 - Lou Ivancik	2003 - Fred McClain
1994 - Scotty Laughland	2004 - John Bennett
1995 - Scotty Laughland	2005 - Ed Austreng
1996 - Harley Trumbull, Jr.	2006 - Roy Biggs
1997 - Lou Ivancik	2007 - Lee Snow
1998 - James Warren	2008 - Jim Burton
1999 - Doug Evans	2009 - Larry Walker
2000 - Doug Evans	2010 - Richard Planko
2001 - Scotty Laughland	2011 - Rick Vittone
2002 - Harley Trumbull Jr.	2012 - Harry Sullins

2013 - Harry Sullins 2014 - Harry Sullins 2015 - Glenn Pilon 2016 - Terry Bialkowski 2017 - Bradley Gray 2018 - Troy Stus 2019 - William Kazmierski 2020 - Robert Sloma 2021 - Glenn Pilon 2022 - Michael McCleskey 2023 - Troy Stus 2024 - Troy Stus